Skip to main content

WNC Business

Appalachian Regional Healthcare System

Jan 08, 2023 06:20PM ● By Randee Brown

The Appalachian Regional Healthcare System consists of three hospitals and inpatient facilities, nine outpatient facilities, and 14 medical offices including Appalachian Regional Medical Associates, Watauga Medical Center, Cannon Memorial Hospital. These facilities are comprised of various locations across the High Country in Banner Elk, Boone, Jefferson, Linville, and West Jefferson providing care services including diabetes, gastroenterology, nutrition therapy, rheumatology, stroke, and more.

Boone’s first hospital was opened in 1925, operating in the Lovill House Annex before moving to the Watauga County Hospital (now Watauga Medical Center) location in 1967. Through a recent affiliation agreement with UNC Health, Appalachian Regional Healthcare System said that they are now able to further invest in services, technology, equipment, and facilities. ARHS also said that the agreement will also allow the healthcare system to expand services, enhance the quality of patient care, and obtain resources to support talent and recruitment efforts and provide opportunities for growth and advancement for its 3,000 current employees and providers.

Watauga Medical Center was recently named a Top Rural Hospital by The Leapfrog Group. The quality of patient care across many areas of hospital performance is considered in establishing the qualifications for the award, including infection rates, practices for safer surgery, maternity care, and the hospital’s capacity to prevent medication errors. 

Source: Appalachian Regional Medical Center